SCARZIP (SCARZ Information Pane)
Sonic Stadium
Green Hill Zone


THE 10 CULTMANDMENTS | THE IDIOT'S GUIDE TO POSTING AT SCARZ
Sonic Online
Sonic Dimension


Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SegaSonic arcade final, has just been blown wide open
Nemesis
post Jan 23 2004, 09:50 PM
Post #21


There's no such thing as 2

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 957
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 4
Gender: Male



I've tested it with both versions 0.78b and 0.64b.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trigger
post Jan 23 2004, 09:57 PM
Post #22


Go Team!!

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 365
Joined: 21-August 03
From: Britannia
Member No.: 46
Gender: Male



Aha! You posted that you were fiddling with something like this in the other topic. This method works like a charm, of course, ignoring a few bugs that remain from the demo video in most levels, and graphical glitches.

It's time to play Prototype vs. Final, kids!


--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dead_screem
post Jan 23 2004, 09:58 PM
Post #23


4 super emeralds

Group Icon

Group: CulT Member
Posts: 1,159
Joined: 21-August 03
From: Illinois
Member No.: 73
Gender: Male
Country: United States



QUOTE(Nemesis @ Jan 23 2004, 08:50 PM)
I've tested it with both versions 0.78b and 0.64b.

the b means nothing ;) Well, it just signifys that its a binary and not the source.

And yeah I just reverted to 0.78 and it works.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
F-Man
post Jan 23 2004, 10:07 PM
Post #24

5 emeralds

Group Icon

Group: CulT Member
Posts: 532
Joined: 21-August 03
From: Québec
Member No.: 112
Gender: Male
Country: Canada



When I grow up, I wanna be like Nem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chibi chibi
post Jan 23 2004, 10:10 PM
Post #25


Brought to you by ww.suta-raito.com (PKMN, DBZ, Hamtaro, etc)

Group Icon

Group: Unwanted
Posts: 267
Joined: 18-November 03
From: Somewhere in the CulT
Member No.: 964
Gender: Male



I'm confused. Where's the link to the ROM?

This post has been edited by chibi chibi: Jan 23 2004, 10:26 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trigger
post Jan 23 2004, 10:27 PM
Post #26


Go Team!!

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 365
Joined: 21-August 03
From: Britannia
Member No.: 46
Gender: Male



Aieee! I'm all moist! I love this game far too much! ;0;

WHY MUST MY PRINT SCREEN BUTTON DECIDE TO FUCK UP AT THIS POINT IN TIME!?@@?!11

First glance differences are that Ray has a different running animation during the intro, in the Prototype he's browning his trousers, in the final he's running with a nice psuedo-hard face that would make Shadow proud. The Snake-like thing that chases you through the desert has changed design, and what were once weird robo-bug catapillar things that blocked your way in the section after are now some bouncy purple sphere things that pop out of the ground. And both now make an explosion sound when hit. Oh and there's one of them boxes you push towards the end of Trap Tower, right at the start serving no purpose other than to block you.

I'll shove up pictures soon enough, when Mame decides to recognise that I'm smacking the print screen button a thousand times.

This leads me to ask, is a similar technique feasable for the Prototype? There might be more shoved in there then originally thought..


--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemesis
post Jan 23 2004, 10:34 PM
Post #27


There's no such thing as 2

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 957
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 4
Gender: Male



QUOTE
This leads me to ask, is a similar technique feasable for the Prototype? There might be more shoved in there then originally thought..

Yes. I'll be looking at that quite soon. First of all, I want to solve this damn problem I'm having with the controls.

Ok Spinel, could you elaborate on what you said please? I can't find any way to adjust pretty much anthing relating to the controls, let alone the sensitivity for analog movement. I can't find any option for it in the in game menu, there doesn't seem to be an ini file setting, there doesn't seem to be a command line option, the documentation doesn't seem to mention it, and mame32 doesn't seem to have the option either. All I've discovered is that mame is one of the least user friendly progams ever made.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Raiser
post Jan 23 2004, 10:42 PM
Post #28


same old avatar...

Group Icon

Group: CulT Member
Posts: 317
Joined: 24-August 03
Member No.: 407
Gender: Male
Country: Canada



I use MAME32, so it may be different for the normal MAME, but if you hit TAB during gameplay it should give you a menu where you can set game specific or general controls. There, you can adjust the analog sensitivity to make Sonic run faster.

This post has been edited by Raiser: Jan 23 2004, 10:42 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemesis
post Jan 23 2004, 10:57 PM
Post #29


There's no such thing as 2

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 957
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 4
Gender: Male



Gah, I'm officially blind. I checked that menu before, and didn't see analog section, even though it was right in front of me.

Anyway, I'm now working on the beta. It's going to be harder, but it should be possible.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chibi chibi
post Jan 23 2004, 11:01 PM
Post #30


Brought to you by ww.suta-raito.com (PKMN, DBZ, Hamtaro, etc)

Group Icon

Group: Unwanted
Posts: 267
Joined: 18-November 03
From: Somewhere in the CulT
Member No.: 964
Gender: Male



1) Where's the ROM?

2) Does anybody know how to add a game to the MAME32? Earlier Raiser said he was playing SegaSonic Arcade on the MAME32, yet it isn't on the list. =P Sorry I'm new to MAME.

This post has been edited by chibi chibi: Jan 23 2004, 11:03 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blackbird
post Jan 23 2004, 11:14 PM
Post #31


with it.

Group Icon

Group: CulT Member
Posts: 735
Joined: 1-January 04
Member No.: 1,284
Gender: Female



For God's sake, here's the rom: http://www.sonicstrike.net/users/sonicroms/roms/ (scroll down to "System 32")

I don't remember how I finally got this to work in command-line MAME.

Oddly enough, though, I didn't have any of the trouble getting it to play that others claimed they had. It started with the first "coin" I inserted and played perfectly fine... Except that I suck at it.

This post has been edited by blackbird: Jan 23 2004, 11:14 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trigger
post Jan 23 2004, 11:49 PM
Post #32


Go Team!!

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 365
Joined: 21-August 03
From: Britannia
Member No.: 46
Gender: Male



Curious yet again Nemesis; is it possible to edit the savestate in such a way that it takes you to whatever end sequence there may be? It does its old cut-back-to-titlescreen dance when you beat the 20 second kablooey bit. I've had a go, but it only tended to mess things up and freeze everything, boo. I'd be interested in noting down any credits that show up.

Although, from what I'm guessing, seeing as there isn't likely to be any small gameplay elements (unlike the intro) during the end sequence, it might not be possible. =/

This post has been edited by Trigger: Jan 23 2004, 11:53 PM


--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mask of Destiny
post Jan 24 2004, 12:03 AM
Post #33

Objective-C == suckage

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 968
Joined: 21-August 03
Member No.: 85
Gender: Male
Country: United States



Do you have some obscure V60 assembler or have you just used your data analyzing brilliance?


--------------------
Do region conversions, dump cartridges, write Sega CD software. All this and more at http://www.retrodev.com/

Currently messing around with Mac OS X Cocoa development on my resurrected B&W G3.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemesis
post Jan 24 2004, 12:41 AM
Post #34


There's no such thing as 2

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 957
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 4
Gender: Male



QUOTE
Curious yet again Nemesis; is it possible to edit the savestate in such a way that it takes you to whatever end sequence there may be?

I'm not sure yet. I'll do my best to find a way though.

QUOTE
Do you have some obscure V60 assembler or have you just used your data analyzing brilliance?

I just skimmed over the savestate, saw this section, and figured the values I was looking for were in there. I located the exact value in about 5 minutes, which in a file that size is really quite scary. I don't have any information really, except what I've figured out from analysing the roms themselves. About all I can tell you is that the V60 looks like it's a 32-bit CPU, probably a using a RISC instruction set, and it's little-endian, but system16.com will have all that kind of information about it anyway. As for tools, I've got nada. I haven't even gotten the damn mame debugger working yet.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemesis
post Jan 24 2004, 01:40 AM
Post #35


There's no such thing as 2

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 957
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 4
Gender: Male



I've found a stage select! The protection in the final is causing problems, but it works in the beta. To enable it in either game, make a savestate in level, and change the byte at 0x10FC8B to 0x08. I've only just found this a minute ago, so I haven't tested it much.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trasher
post Jan 24 2004, 02:15 AM
Post #36


Kicking ass. FESTIVELY.

Group Icon

Group: CulT Member
Posts: 568
Joined: 21-August 03
From: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Member No.: 13
Gender: Male



Is there anything you can't do.

Seriously man.


--------------------
LASERBOOBS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dead_screem
post Jan 24 2004, 03:44 AM
Post #37


4 super emeralds

Group Icon

Group: CulT Member
Posts: 1,159
Joined: 21-August 03
From: Illinois
Member No.: 73
Gender: Male
Country: United States



QUOTE(Nemesis @ Jan 23 2004, 11:41 PM)
About all I can tell you is that the V60 looks like it's a 32-bit CPU

The V60 is 16bit the V70 is 32bit (the V70 is a 32bit V60)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemesis
post Jan 24 2004, 04:10 AM
Post #38


There's no such thing as 2

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 957
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 4
Gender: Male



QUOTE
The V60 is 16bit the V70 is 32bit (the V70 is a 32bit V60)

Are you sure? It looks 32-bit to me. Then again, I haven't delt with that wide a range of processors.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RyogaMasaki
post Jan 24 2004, 04:11 AM
Post #39


GUESS WHO'S BACK, BACK AGAIN

Group Icon

Group: CulT Member
Posts: 877
Joined: 22-August 03
Member No.: 264
Gender: Male



IPB Image

For the people who are lazy. =P

Level list: (Note that I haven't played the game through normally, so I don't know any level names, or which are 'lost' levels or anything)
Level 00 - locks up the game
Level 01 - locks up the emu (quits MAME)
Level 02 - locks up the emy (quits MAME)

IPB Image
Level 03 - Eggman appears. Gears chase you

IPB Image
Level 04 - The ground cracks as you run

IPB Image
Level 05 - The start level

IPB Image
Level 06 - weird, it replays the intro (with the teeth car chasing you down) and then you appear here. Lava shoots up from the rocks.

IPB Image
Level 07 - Unfinished level? There's nothing here.

IPB Image
Level 08 - Same as level 06, except there's no intro

IPB Image
Level 09 - Ice level

IPB Image
Level 0a - Dust Hill =P

IPB Image
Level 0b - Unfinished level? Nothing here. The camera pans around and forces you to move with it.

[img]http://nazis.kicks-ass.net/_stuff/level0c.png[/img]
Level 0c - Unfinished level? Nothing here

[img]http://nazis.kicks-ass.net/_stuff/level0d.png[/img]
Level 0d - Another unfinished level. The ground breaks up behind you.

[img]http://nazis.kicks-ass.net/_stuff/level0e.png[/img]
Level 0e - Unfinished as well. The gears chase behind you

[img]http://nazis.kicks-ass.net/_stuff/level0f.png[/img]
Level 0f - Unfinished. Almost exactly the same as 0d

This post has been edited by RyogaMasaki: Jan 24 2004, 04:30 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemesis
post Jan 24 2004, 04:16 AM
Post #40


There's no such thing as 2

Group Icon

Group: CulT Family
Posts: 957
Joined: 20-August 03
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 4
Gender: Male



According to system16, the V60 is indeed a 32-bit RISC CPU. It runs at 16Mhz so that's probably where you got that from.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Start new topic

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd August 2017 - 10:51 AM